Toyota Audience Awards

Our Festival’s audience-voted awards are determined by the audience of each screening being invited to rate the film on a numeric scale on a paper ballot. The average of the audience’s scoring is multiplied by the fractional audience participation in the voting process (that is, the number of people who choose to vote out of the total attendance at each screening) in order to come up with a final score. At the conclusion of the Festival, the film with the highest over-all score in each audience-voted category is the winner of that category’s Award. Should two top final scores be separated by less than 1/10 of a percentage point, a tie will be declared. Ratings and final scores are confidential and not published or shared.

Toyota Narrative Feature Film Audience Award 
Presented to the filmmaker of the Festival audience’s choice of best non-documentary feature (60 min or more) of the entire Official Selection.

Toyota Short Film Audience Award
Presented to the filmmaker(s) of the Festival audience’s choice of best non-documentary short (30 min or less) of the entire Official Selection.

In 2020, due to the truncated edition of the Festival and the inability to award the Festival’s Documentary Achievement Award, TOYOTA agreed to create a specially-designated Toyota Documentary Feature Film Audience Award to honor those documentaries that were able to screen before the Festival’s premature closing due to the coronavirus pandemic.


Toyota Narrative Feature Film Audience Award goes to 90 Minutes, a portrait of contemporary Honduras through the lens of its societal obsession with soccer, directed by Aeden O’Connor Agurcia.

Toyota Documentary Feature Film Audience Award goes to Magnolia Pictures’ The Fightdepicting the struggles of a quartet of ACLU lawyers as they work on hot-button issues of our times, directed by Josh Kriegman, Elyse Steinberg and Eli Despres.

Toyota Short Film Audience Award goes to “Endure The Suck”, a documentary about two disabled military veterans who find new challenges in the sport of sailing, directed by Isaac Mead-Long.