Precious Gem Award

The Precious Gem Award has been Miami Film Festival’s signature award since it was introduced in 2015. It is reserved for honoring the truly special stars of the art form, those one-of-a-kind artists whose contributions to cinema are lasting and unforgettable. Miami values are shining brilliance and immeasurable rarity, thus the ‘Precious Gem’ is the perfect symbol for our highest appreciation, our greatest gratitude, to those artists who have both entertained us and brought us greater understanding of our human condition.

2021 Recipients

Pedro Almodóvar – Precious Gem Master Award
On March 5, Miami Film Festival will be proud to virtually present its Precious Gem – Master Award to legendary Spanish auteur Pedro Almodóvar, prior to the Miami premiere of his first English-language film, the live-action short “The Human Voice,” starring Tilda Swinton in a tour-de-force performance.


Rita Moreno – Precious Gem Icon Award
On March 10, the Miami Film Festival will virtually presents its Precious Gem Icon Award to Rita Moreno, prior to the Miami premiere of Mariem Pérez Riera’s new documentary, Rita Moreno: Just a Girl Who Decided to Go For It. Filmed two years earlier while Moreno was working on the Latinx reboot of One Day at a Time, the film takes us through her remarkable 70+ year career and the barriers she broke through for generations of Latinx actors who followed in her footsteps.

Javier Cámara – Precious Gem Award
Javier Cámara is one of the most legendary, beloved, and versatile actors in the history of Spanish cinema. Over the span of his three-decade career, he has starred in nearly 70 major films and television series, crafting some of the most unforgettable characters in modern cinema and working with many of the world’s premiere auteur directors including Pedro Almodovar, Cesc Gay, Fernando Trueba, David Trueba, Isabel Coixet, and Julio Medem, among many others.

Actress: Amy Ryan
Actress: Emma Suárez.

Actress Patricia Clarkson

Actress Isabelle Huppert
Filmmaker Carlos Saura
Producers Kevin Chinoy and Francesca Silvestri (The Florida Project)
Actress Isabelle Huppert (PRECIOUS GEM ICON)
Filmmaker Carlos Saura (PRECIOUS GEM MASTER)

Actress Rossy de Palma (Tribute/Evening With only)

Actress Bárbara Lennie (Spain)
Cinematographer Diego García (Art of Light Award)

Film Society Platinum Member Silvia Rios Fortun, for 34 consecutive years of supporting Miami Film Festival.

Filmmaker Marcos Carnevale (Argentina)

Don Francisco on the occasion of the release of The 33, for his humanitarian efforts to help the trapped Chilean miners dramatized in the film. Awarded in the presence and with the support of stars Kate del Castillo and Rodrigo Santoro.